Ariwo are a Cuban/Iranian quartet, focussing on the unexplored intersection between electronic & ANCESTRAL music. 


The word Ariwo means “Noise” in Yoruba. The name was selected to underline the band’s desire to combine traditional rhythms into a live electronic performance that challenges perceptions of ancestral music, and connects diverse cultures from around the world. 

The band brings together acclaimed Iranian electronic composer, POUYA EHSAEI; Carlos Acosta and Irakere’s Latin Grammy winning 'percussion virtuoso' HAMMADI VALDES; figurehead of London's Cuban music scene, ORESTE NODA; and Ropeadope’s award‐winning Jazz trumpeter, JAY PHELPS.

Their 2017 eponymous debut album received 4 stars in Songlines and the Evening Standard, as well as glowing reviews in the Wire, Rhythm Passport and Stamp the Wax. Their single 'To Earth' was listed on Phonica Records' top 50 tracks of 2017.


”Cuban-born percussion virtuoso" (Time Out), HAMMADI VALDES was Musical Director for Carlos Acosta’s ‘Cubania’; he has won a Latin Grammy for work on Chucho Valdés’ ‘New Conceptions’; recorded with Irakere and played with Robert Mitchell, Michael Kiwanuka and the London Philharmonic and Symphonic Orchestra's.

JAY PHELPS is a Vancouver born trumpeter and artist. His latest solo release is on Ropeadope Records. He distinguished himself early on as the youngest band-leader in the Vancouver International Jazz Festival’s history and has performed and recorded with the likes of Courtney Pine, Andrew Hill, Wynton Marsalis, George Benson, Guy Barker, Amy Winehouse, Hugh Masakela, Jazz Jamaica and Soweto Kinch.

ORESTE NODA has played and recorded with world renowned artists like Ibrahim Ferrer (Buena Vista Social Club), Changuito (Los Van Van), Graham Coxon and James Taylor Quartet  - as promoter, Sambroso Sambroso, he acts as a figurehead for the London's Cuban music community.

POUYA EHSAEI is an Iranian electronic music composer and producer whose debut album ‘Where’ (Entr’acte) was hailed as belonging “in that precious pile” of Iranian electronic music pioneers (Boomkat).